The lucky few …

I have written many times before that my youngest daughter, Reese, has Down Syndrome. I’ve also written about her biggest delays, which are in her oral motor development. Her speech is severely delayed. She also doesn’t chew her food. She has many food aversions because of it and really doesn’t understand the whole social part of eating. It is just a means to an end. Well, last night and this morning we had some HUGE break throughs!

HUGE. HUGE.

Last night we went to Dave and Buster’s and Reese picked up a menu and told me she wanted macaroni and cheese. She has NEVER done that before. She ate almost the entire bowl of mashed up mac and cheese and she drank their lemonade served in their cup. She asked to try all of our drinks too. Again, this NEVER happens. Not only THAT. When it came time to trade in her tickets she picked a Funko Pop Wonder Woman and … a piece of CANDY. It was all she could talk about! My kid, talking about CANDY! Say WHAT?!?! When we got home it was after midnight and she went straight to bed holding her Wonder Woman and CANDY. I assumed that she would soon forget about the candy and it would end up in the trash at some point.

NOPE.

When she woke up this morning she walked out of her room holding both. She immediately asked to eat her candy.

Candy for breakfast? Um. For this child to STILL be interested in candy THE NEXT DAY was HUGE. For her to ask to eat something knew, EVEN MORE HUGE. So, candy for breakfast? HECK FREAKING YEAH!

The candy was a little tricky for me because I didn’t actually understand what “Nerd Rope” was. My older kids didn’t eat a whole lot of stuff like this and I had never even heard of it before. Anyway, I broke it apart into tiny pieces and Reese immediately put a “Nerd” in her mouth ALL ON HER OWN! Then she tried the jelly-ish rope part thingy. She tried a few more pieces of both and really tried to CHEW. I was in SHOCK. I STILL AM! In about 12 hours of time Reese made more “feeding” progress than she EVER has. She appears to be making up for all the years of “kid food” that she missed too. HA and YIKES! But she is getting it! I am SO HAPPY! This is HUGE AND AWESOME! A dream come true and a MIRACLE! She has come so far. SO SO FAR.

Days like this I am reminded how good my life is. To find this much joy in something so simple makes me know just how much this little girl keeps me grounded and REAL. She is a blessing. I love how she has taught me to look at our lives and the world around us. There aren’t a lot of people who may understand us. Heck, some people might even feel bad for us. But I can you this with all sincerity. Viewing life with Down Syndrome goggles on leaves you with a beautiful perspective.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you are one of the lucky few!!!

2 thoughts on “The lucky few …

  1. I guess you’re right, to be one of the lucky few. I have a son with a vision impaired disability caused by glaucoma. I has redirected both our perspectives in life for the better. It was really tough at first, but the blessings come in ways unexpected. We have learned to be humble, and look at people with disabilities with understanding and compassion. The disability also taught my son how to sing and be a better communicator. I guess what vision lacks, the voice excels to cover for it. In my view, imperfect conditions in life are ways to perfect us. God bless you and your daughter.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for sharing and for your kind words. We learn so much from them. And I agree that the disabilities truly reveal to us our god-given abilities. Reese has many physical gifts and I love to focus on those and how she can share them with the world. My father also became an accomplished photographer after he went blind! Life is amazing that way. I said a prayer for you and your son. My god continue bless his life in great ways.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

