One of my most favorite people in the world …

Today is my son George’s birthday. His birth feels like it was yesterday. I remember at the end of the day, when all of our visitors had left the hospital, and it was just he and I. I held him in my arms and looked at his darling little face. I said his name out loud. George Alexander Henry, III. It was a very big name for such a tiny baby. My eyes filled with tears as I was suddenly overwhelmed with the responsibility of raising my son to be the man I so desperately wanted him to become. Strong but not aggressive. Brilliant but not arrogant. Kind. Good. Compassionate. Selfless. A true GENTLE-man. Well, now we are HERE on his 18th Birthday. He made the journey from that hospital room to this day, easy. He has grown into a wonderful young man with every quality I had hoped for, and more. George’s loving nature, his loyalty and his humor are my favorite qualities that he possesses. I treasure our relationship and all our long talks. He makes the worries that I felt, all those years ago, seem foolish now. He is ready to take on the world and I simply can’t wait to watch him chase his dreams … but no matter how tall he grows, how old he becomes or where his successes take him, he will always be my precious baby boy.

Happy 18th Birthday George! You are a joy! I love you with all of my heart and I couldn’t be prouder of the man you are today!

Well, I hope you all have a day where you celebrate one of your most favorite people in the world!!!

Leave a Reply

