“Mornin'” (said The Dreamer to The Realist) …

I do the majority of my walking miles at one of our local parks. It’s a beautiful place and spending time there regularly is one of the highlights of my week. I usually get there quite early in the morning and I often see the same people. My favorite of “The Park People” is an older gentleman who runs. I call him “The Realist”.

I say “Good morning” to everyone I pass. Walking or running, if I’m out there throwing down the miles with you, you will get an acknowledgment from me. Even on a horrible run I will muster up the effort to be friendly. It’s how I roll. And for goodness sake, it’s the polite thing to do.

Anyway, I have learned to only say “Mornin'” to The Realist. Why? Because every time I said “Good Morning” to him he responded back with total realism … and just kept running.

“Good? So far.” 

“Good? I guess”. 

And my favorite, “Morning, meh”.

Now I suppose he might be offensive to some, but he isn’t to me. I appreciate his raw honesty. I respect him for being so in touch with himself that he can’t even fake a “Good morning”. Trust me, I have faked many. We all have. And we shouldn’t have to.

I am a dreamer at heart. My head is always in the clouds. I believe in miracles and put my trust in faith. I eat, breath and sleep hope. Yet I am in awe of the The Realist and the lessons he has unknowingly taught me. I do not believe that he is a random soul who has entered my life. He came when I needed him the most. Our paths crossed when I was ready to learn the lesson only he could teach me. And that lesson is a valuable one. I have learned that it’s OK to just be OK. And that it’s also OK, to not be OK at all. That life can be pretty messy and unpleasant, but it’s YOURS to own. Good, bad or “meh”. You just need to be polite. Be real. And honest … and keep moving forward.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you KEEP IT REAL!!!

Leave a Reply

