Better planning …

Yesterday morning before school we were discussing how it was already the first day of May. WOW! Then G3 told me that this would be his last full month of high school. WOW, WOW! Within about 8 seconds I went from being super excited for him to a tearful over-emotional mom. Overwhelmed, I sat there trying to figure out how my baby boy turned into a young man who was ready to take on the world, in what feels like, the blink of an eye. Oh yes, I was emotional. Again.

I am at the end of my marathon training schedule. In less than one month I hope to be standing on a start line I never though I’d make it to. It’s been a journey, to say the least.

At the end of a marathon training is something called “a taper”. It’s when your running schedule goes from high to low. From 20-mile long runs to 8-9 mile long runs. It’s a huge difference. There’s a science to all of it that I don’t completely understand, yet I trust it. In simple terms, it’s the time period when your muscles heal and strengthen so that you can be in the best shape possible for race day. Well, that’s the idea anyway. Sounds pleasant, doesn’t it? NOPE. At least not for me.

I’d bet that if you asked most distance runners their opinion of THE TAPER you would get some pretty negative responses. Paranoia of injury increases. Patience is at an all time low. And moods are like a yo-yo. Fun stuff to be around … if you like misery!

I bring all this up because this morning I realized that I will be tapering just as I am watching my son go through his last full month of high school. Oh dear lord in Heaven. What was I thinking? Clearly, I wasn’t. 

Well, I hope you all have a day where you do some better planning!!!

Leave a Reply

