Cover up that hair crazy lady … 

My hair. It’s been the topic of several blog entries over the years. It’s red. It’s curly. And it gets rather large even when cut short. It has fascinated many. Even strangers who find the need to comment on it freely … and touch it. I honestly don’t get it. But I’ve lived with it my whole life so I guess I’m just used to it.

I can’t deny, however, that I’ve used the looks of my hair to get to my crew, HA! My bed-head is quite a sight and requires a hat for containment. I have, throughout the years, told my crew in the midst of our morning craziness to, “Behave or I’m taking the hat off!” This has worked especially well at school drop off. I’ll be honest, it’s fun to say it just see their reactions. GASP. Followed by a NO! It’s hysterical!

Reese being the youngest has never “chimed in” regarding my hair. I’ve found it so sweet that she loves me so much that she doesn’t care how I look. The precious innocence of a child and their unconditional love is truly priceless. This is my Reese in a nutshell. But it all ended today. HA, again!

This morning as I was running around getting her ready for school I quickly pulled my hair back into a bun. I actually made quite an effort since it’s still pretty short. But I looked in the mirror and thought it looked good enough for public viewing and opted for no hat. Until Reese saw me and said, “Mama, hat.”

My precious little pea, who still struggles with her words, was so disturbed by the looks of my hair that she made the effort to say that I needed to put a hat on. Is anyone else laughing except me?!?! I honestly thought it looked OK! All I could do was crack up … oh … and put on a hat.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you cover up!!!

Leave a Reply

