Speak your mind …

Today I got to witness a grown woman have a temper tantrum at our local pharmacy. She was having issues with her credit card, that she had just used at another register in the store, without question. She claimed to have a headache and said she just wanted her medication. I totally get that one and felt bad for her. But then she started getting a little rude. Then a lot rude. And loud. GOOD GRIEF. I couldn’t help but start being judge-y. I wanted to tell her that I had just recently managed to survive MY SECOND BOUT of meningitis which had me visiting the depths of headache hell, yet I somehow managed to never be disrespectful to everyone around me. It took every fiber of my being not to tell her how I felt about her behavior. Trust me it took A LOT. And I’ll be honest, the only reason I didn’t say anything was because I thought my intolerance of her behavior was because the pain of the meningitis was still fresh in my mind. I thought perhaps I was just being to harsh in my judgment of her based on my recent experiences. But then a man in line told her to stop. He was very respectful but laid it out in no uncertain terms that she was acting horrendously and that no one around her wanted to hear it. Others chimed in too. She didn’t handle it well at all. But eventually she left. I felt a little relieved that it wasn’t just me feeling that way about her. I don’t know where people like her come from, but I never want to go there. Sure I know that people are often fighting secret battles that aren’t always apparent to even the people closest to them. But I still don’t think that gives anyone the right to behave badly and treat people poorly. I just don’t. And I really should have said so.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you speak your mind!!!

Leave a Reply

