Waiting to see what happens … 

Before I got sick I registered for the Cliff Mountains 2 Beach Marathon. I was really excited about it. And today is supposed to be my first day of training. Hmmmm.

I have pushed myself physically a few times in my life but never more than running back to back marathons, 7 days apart, to earn my way into Marathon Maniacs. I guess, until now.

I decided to go for it.

I’m going to give it my best shot and run the race. I even ran my first training run this morning. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve been running since I got sick, but now it will be different. I’m going to try not to put any pressure on myself regarding time or pace. That will be something knew, HA! I’ll be honest, I really hope I am strong enough to finish. Heck, I hope I’m strong enough to just keep up with the training schedule! I really wouldn’t do this if I thought it was a bad idea. Um. I don’t know if it is. But I do know that my doctor cleared me for all activities weeks ago. He told me that my fatigue will be my biggest obstacle, but if I pushed through it I’d get stronger. Eventually.

So, I’m going to try.

I don’t know how it’s all going to turn out in the end. I have no clue what race day will look. Or if I’ll even be able to show up. Twenty weeks of training is NO JOKE under the best of circumstances. Starting it less than three months after having meningitis is probably a little nuts. This is going to take a lot to pull off. And I might fail. But I don’t care. I am not scared to find out how this all goes down. I am actually looking forward to it.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you decide to just wait and see what happens!!!

Leave a Reply

