The Running Queen …

Today is not a normal run day for me, but I ran anyway. I woke up so grateful for my health that I just had to run. I know that non-runners will probably not understand this at all. I will admit, it sounds a little crazy to me too, HA! But it’s where I’m at and I just had to run.

I ran because I can. Because I truly love it. I ran because there were many times over the past few months when I couldn’t run and I was plagued with thoughts that I may never be able to run again. Running is so personal to me and without it I felt lost. I’ve been through a lot in my life, but the thought of losing that part of ME almost broke me.

I am not completely restored but I’m getting there. I still battle fatigue and have issues with my back from the lumbar puncture, but I honestly couldn’t be happier with my progress. When I woke this morning and laid in my bed I was contemplating whether a run was in my best interest. My miles aren’t high so I took the chance and promised myself I’d keep it an easy run. As a distance runner you can face many runs that are unpleasant. This run was perfect. Not because it was long or because I was fast. Neither of those things happened today. It was because with every footstep against the pavement I felt alive.

Starting over is never easy. Specially talking running, it is without a doubt, humbling. But it reminds me of how far I’ve come since the first day I took a chance to run again all those years ago. Today I can say it was worth the struggle. And I know it will be this time too. 

As I came to the last half mile of my run I thanked God for brining me through another tough time. I’m still trying to make sense of all of it, but I’ve found peace in it too. Things happen, sometimes just to bring you back to another new beginning. And that’s OK by me.

As I neared my home the shuffle on my playlist switched to a new song. It instantly made me smile. It was the first song that I ran to when I starting running with music. Dancing Queen by ABBA. It was perfect timing to say the least. No, I am not 17 anymore and I hardly dance anymore either. But I do run and I do plan on “having the time of my life” finding myself again.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you get to do what you love!!!

Leave a Reply

