33 years ago today …

Thirty-three years ago today I was in a freak traumatic accident. It left me with a broken vertebrae, bruised ribs, numbness in my lower extremities, severe back pain and a broken heart.

After that day I heard A LOT of “you can’t”. As a runner that really sucked. And I believed it … for about 23 years to be exact. Then one day one day I decided not to believe it anymore.

There’s a saying that goes something like this: You only change when the thought of remaining who you are causes you far greater pain than the fears you have about changing. 

Yup. That’s what it came down to for me.

It wasn’t easy and it took a very long time but I turned those CAN’Ts into CANs … and I never looked back. I slowly built myself back up, physically and emotionally. I let myself dream about things I hadn’t dreamed about in decades. And it was wonderful.

As time passed what surprised me most was that those dreams that I thought were unattainable, actually were … and then some. I began living a life BEYOND my wildest dreams and I began dreaming EVEN BIGGER dreams than I ever had before! I soon found that my life was filled with a passion I never knew existed in my soul. It was then that I realized that nothing … ABSOLUTELY NOTHING … IS IMPOSSIBLE.

I still haven’t chased down all my dreams yet. I certainly have some DOOZEYS! But that’s OK, because I still remember the 15-year-girl lying on her hospital bed with a heart full of shattered dreams. I think I owe it to her to keep on trying.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you have come a long way baby!!!

Leave a Reply

