Humbly and gratefully back at it …

After six weeks off of running I ran two miles today. It was probably the most emotional run I’ve ever had in my life. There were many times over the past six weeks that I really wondered if I would ever run again. I was physically miserable and the thought left me a crying mess. My friends and family urged me to be patient, that I would know when I was ready. I was skeptical at best.

But this morning I laced up and ran. It was wonderful. I capped myself at two miles. I figured that was a good place to start and I let my body decide my pace. It felt fantastic to be out there! I honestly could have run at least double what I did, but I am not pushing it. I am not risking injury or illness. No way! Not gunna happen. And I’ll be honest, I want to savor every minute of this “comeback”. I am not taking one step for granted. Each is truly a gift. I am so thankful to be given the opportunity to run once more. It is a joy I wasn’t sure I would ever feel again. I want to appreciate it. Feel it. Own it. No. I am not pushing or rushing any of this. I’m simply going to enjoy it.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you are humbly and gratefully back at it!!!

One thought on “Humbly and gratefully back at it …

Leave a Reply

