A really good excuse …

Four weeks ago today I missed writing a daily blog entry. It was the first time in over 5 years. I subsequently wrote nothing for the next 28 days.

Why?

I somehow managed to get viral meningitis … again.

Yep, I had it once before 9 years ago. This time it was the exact same type too. Crazy, right?!?! G3 “googled” and found out that I had a better chance of winning the lottery than I did getting it twice. I guess that makes me lucky, unlucky, or just a freak of nature. Swell.

Anyway, I had to check out for a multitude of reasons. And it was really weird.

I had often wondered what would be the deciding factor to no longer do a daily blog. Trust me, there were days when I really didn’t want to write. And barley did, HA! But when I first started this posting of daily hopes, I decided that I would be in it for the long run. It was symbolic of what hope really looked like. Day in and day out, choosing to be positive. It took work. A lot. But I believe it has been one of the most healthy things I have ever done for myself. To force myself to find a shred of hope in an otherwise ugly day was a gift. And somehow I managed to keep it up. Well, at least I did until I was in the throes of complete and utter agony.

So, I’m back now. I am still in the beginning of my recovery. It’s a long road. One I have been down before. But I am staying optimistic. I got a great report from my doctor today too. We are both hoping for a speedy return to my healthy self. Thankfully I’m already way ahead of where I was the last time. And I can happily say for the first time in weeks that my future is really starting to look pretty bright. Again.

I wanted to send out a big thank you to my followers. I am humbled by your loyalty, your kind words and your contributions to my posts. You have blessed me more than you will ever know. And I have truly missed each and every one of you.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you have a really good excuse!!!

Leave a Reply

