My reputation precedes me …

Today was Reese’s first day of first grade. I have to say that it went pretty well. I was a little concerned because I had some serious issues last year. I won’t get into ALL the details but student drop-off and pick-up was a BIG one. Oddly, there has never been a safe curbside area for Special Day Class (SDC) students who are not bused to and from school. We have to park, if there is any parking available, and walk through the small war zone of a parking lot. Seriously, it’s scary. Reese is so frightened that she has me carry her the whole way all the while burrowing her head into my neck.

There is a HUGE valet area for the typical students and a smaller one for the SDC students who are bused. But nothing for us and it just wasn’t right. I brought this to the attention of the principal last year after being yelled at one to many times by a teacher for trying to drop Reese off at curbside. The principal, admitted that no one had ever thought of providing an area. My reaction: WOW. Be it the loudmouth social worker to draw attention to something so … um … BASIC. How is it that in all the years this school has been an SDC site no one has ever thought that providing a safe ACCESS TO EDUCATION is just as important to the student as the education itself?!?! Good grief. Anyway, the principal spent the better part of the year trying to figure it all out at the district level with my incessant urging. We left school for the summer with me being told that the parking lot would be reworked over the summer to accommodate an increase in students as well as my concerns for a safe curbside area for SDC students who weren’t bused.

Well … that didn’t happen. Go figure.

Reese and I arrived very early to school this morning to find that they had repaved and painted the parking lot. BIG SIGH. I was utterly disappointed. But then something happened. I was met by a woman at curbside with whom I was unfamiliar. I asked her if she knew if an area had been designated for SDC students being dropped off. Her reply: ARE YOU MRS. HENRY? I was taken back since I had no clue who she was. I replied, “Yes.” She said, “Hi, I’m with the district and we are out here helping today, you can pull up right here”. And she motioned to the area right in front of where the buses drop off the other SDC students. I couldn’t contain the humor I saw in the whole scenario and literally cracked the heck up … and happily dropped Reese off safely at curbside. BIG HUGE SMILE.

Well, I hope you all have a day where your reputation precedes you!!!

Leave a Reply

