Happily heartbroken …

Today we registered G3 for his senior year in high school. Between taking his senior portraits last week and this, there is no denying it … I am not handling this any better than I did when Sid experienced all of it. The same feelings of excitement, pride, loss and grief are doing battle in my heart again. My little boy has become a brilliant young man with an amazing future ahead of him. I truly couldn’t be happier. But I am also saddened by the changes that I know are coming. I also grieve for the time that seems to have passed so quickly. My memories return to my newborn son’s tiny hands … that are now bigger than mine. My shy, sweet Hammy Handsome is now a confident man ready to take on the world. And yet I can’t help but think of those precious times when he wore Thomas the Tank sneakers and when he told me “I did it” for the very first time. Yes, my baby boy … you DID do it. And mommy couldn’t be prouder of you.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you are happily heartbroken!!!

Leave a Reply

