It all worked out in the end …

I wrote yesterday of how my friend Kim and I headed to Northern California for our weekend Run-cation. We are both running the Napa to Sonoma Half Marathon this Sunday. Our rooms had been booked and we made great time getting to our hotel. Girl talk the whole way, and lots of laughter. The trip was going great!

And then … disaster hit.

Upon arriving at our hotel we learned that they wouldn’t honor the room we had booked through a travel website. WHAT?!?! Needless to say it was a FIASCO. Thankfully the travel company reimbursed our money. But sadly, beyond that they didn’t to much more for us than aggravate us with lengthy (and I am LENGTHY) telephone calls. I am not giving any company names yet, because I am SOOOO not done in my complaint process. That I will deal with after our weekend is over.

Anyway, Kim and I found ourselves stranded in Northern California at a Starbucks with no hotel for about two hours. Oh. My. God. The panic we felt having to find a last minute hotel room on a Friday afternoon on a race weekend had us thinking we might be sleeping in my car. OK, not really. But again … OH … MY … GOD! Luckily Kim and I got were able to book a room at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country in Santa Rosa.

Yes, I’ll tell you THEIR name. Why?

Because staying with them has been one of the best travel experiences Kim and I have ever had. Although it took us another 90 minutes to get there in traffic, it was well worth it. The drive was absolutely beautiful and upon our arrival here life miraculously changed. The facility and grounds are lovely. Our room, with a view, is clean and modern. And the staff … WOW!

Upon checking in Kim and I must of looked a little wrecked. We told the front desk about our travel woes and they immediately began spoiling us rotten. We were invited to attend a wine tasting currently in progress. When we arrived to the tasting, the woman who checked us in met us at the door and handed up an envelop containing passes for the hotel’s buffet breakfast. She told us she that wanted to buy us breakfast for all the drama we had experienced earlier in the day. Kim and I were so overwhelmed we hugged her! If that wasn’t enough during the wine tasting Kim and I met one of the hotel managers who showered us with all sorts of passes and coupons for the local wineries. We then met a woman in Human Resources who was not only friendly, she shared our love for macaroni and cheese, HA! She checked on us later at the hotel restaurant, making sure we liked our food (macaroni and cheese), all before leaving for the weekend. 

Kim and I were utterly shocked. The staff here owed us nothing but the room we paid for. But they went above and beyond to make up for the inadequacies Kim and I experienced earlier in the day. And mind you, they aren’t even affiliated with either of the TWO companies who Kim and I dealt with previously! Their actions came out of honest-to-goodness generosity, genuine hospitality and straight-up kindness. And Kim and I couldn’t have been more grateful.

Well, I hope you all have a day where it all works out in the end!!!

Leave a Reply

