Loved and appreciated … 

I’ve been running around like a crazy person this week. Busy. Busy. Busy. Do we ever really think about what is on our plates? Don’t most of us just deal with it and get it done. I’m of the belief that we don’t need praise or recognition for meeting our responsibilities or behaving like good adults. I think our society has blurred this a little. But that is a topic for a different day. Today is about kindness and tenderness shown to you when you don’t even realize you need it. When someone takes the time to love on you when they see the opportunity in a quiet moment.

I have a meeting at the Down Syndrome Association tonight so I upped my daily chores a few hours. The first being giving Reese a bath when she first got home from school. After she was dressed and her hair was brushed she asked to lay in my bed and to go on her iPad. This kid loves her down time after school! 

After I got her settled in my bed I went to clean out her lunch box and backpack, checked on the laundry, did a few dishes and a few other minor things around the house. I then went back into my bedroom to check on my Ree. I flopped down on my back at the foot of my bed and just stared at the ceiling. I didn’t realize how good it would feel to lay down. Wow, I could have fallen asleep! I guess my laying there got Reese’s attention. I rarely lay down during the day and this seemed to surprised her. She smiled a big smile at me and crawled out from underneath the blankets. She leaned over me and kissed me. And then she went back to her iPad. Now I’m not exactly sure why she took the time to kiss me but I can assure you that the kiss came wrapped in a whole lot of feelings … at least for me. This kid is simply THE BEST.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you feel loved and appreciated!!!

Leave a Reply

