A reason to laugh …

Mother’s Day is a difficult day for me no matter how hard I try. It’s been 22 years since my mom passed away and the grief still creeps in. This year with Sidney living in San Francisco I’m really struggling. I’m down right sad. I can’t be with my mom on Mother’s Day and now I can’t be with all my kids either. I do not like this. Not. One. Bit. I thought about all of this as I laid in bed this morning. I wondered what my mom’s advice would be to help me get through this week.

LAUGH.

She would tell me to laugh. That was her answer for everything! It served her well and her laughter remains her legacy. The sound. The ease with which she found humor in EVERY situation she faced. Even the horrible ones. She taught me to try to be happy, no matter what. To find a reason to smile even when I want to cry. She was funny too. She would do what she could to bring silliness into any experience. Seriously, the woman had a gift! And she was wonderful mother. So I’m going to do my best to make her proud … and laugh.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you find a reason to laugh!

Leave a Reply

