Toothpaste and a minor explosion …

We use Mentadent toothpaste. We have for as long as I can remember. I think it is the best toothpaste out there. It comes in pump form and each box comes with two cartridges. We used to be able to get cases of it at Costco but they stopped selling it about 10 years ago. Needless to say I have changed A LOT of cartridges in my day. Which means I’ve also mastered it. 

Now, you may be questioning why one would need to master changing a toothpaste cartridge. But trust me, the struggle is real. There are two sides to each cartridge. A blue side and a white side. Ideally you push on the top of the cartridge once it’s loaded and the toothpaste, both sides, is evenly distributed onto your toothbrush. However, with settling, this is nearly impossible. A new cartridge will always disperse one side more than another. It took me some time but I finally figured out a way to resolve this. There is a cap on the opening of the part of the cartridge that disburses the toothpaste. If you keep that closed and gently push down on the cartridge the two sides even out. You can then pop open the lid and WAH LA an even amount of blue and white end up on your toothbrush. I have done this for a very long time without incident … until today.

This morning I needed a new cartridge of toothpaste. I proceeded to do the same thing to evenly disburse both sides of toothpaste. However, this time when I opened up the cap I could see that the blue side was still not even with the white. So I re-capped it and pushed.

I am not sure if I had some sort of previously undiscovered superhuman strength, but when I pushed down on the dispenser for the second time that toothpaste came BURSTING OUT! It was a GIGANTIC stream of blue and white GOO! Holy moly. What. A. Mess. But … both sides are even now. Swell.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you survive a minor explosion!!!

Leave a Reply

