I love her and all her extra parts …

Happy World Down Syndrome Day everyone!!! WDSD is celebrated on 21st day of the 3rd month. Can you guess why? Because it is the triplication (trisomy) of the 21st chromosome that causes Down Syndrome. 3/21, get it?!?! I love it! And apparently the world agrees because since 2012 this day has been recognized by the United Nations as a GLOBAL day of awareness! Cool stuff!

I have always said that Reese is a gift, not just to me and our family but to everyone who has come to know her. Not many people know when and where I was told Reese had Down Syndrome. I was on my way to a little league game for G3 and Libs. My doctor called and I pulled my car over to a small side street in Villa Park, California. What I knew deep down, was confirmed. Reese had Down Syndrome. I did not cry that day nor any other day thereafter because of what I was told. Reese was who God made her to be. She was going to be perfectly her, and I was chosen to be her mom. I loved my daughter. Period. It was in that moment sitting in my car alone, hearing those words DOWN SYNDROME, that I felt a clarity wash over me. I thought, this child will change the world. I know it’s not a typical reaction that you hear about with situations like these. But those friends and family who walked with me through those first few months can attest, no tears fell from my eyes. What came was a fierce love and an excitement to see all the ways this little miracle girl would change hearts and minds. She is destined for great things. I truly believe with all of my heart that Reese was born at this time, in this world, for a mighty purpose … and WE are all part of that purpose. Either through knowing me or Reese personally, through social media or this blog many of you have come to have an awareness of Down Syndrome that you probably never had before. An awareness that you now live and spread to others. Your relationship with Reese, no matter how distant, coupled with your understanding of Down Syndrome has undoubtably helped change this world for the better. And I am abundantly grateful that each and every one of you was chosen to be a part of this beautiful journey with us. 💙💛 

Well, I hope you all have a day where you love someone and all their extra parts!!!

Leave a Reply

