Ground Hog Day and finding a good hiding place …

Happy Ground Hog Day.

Well, sorta.

Ground Hog Day is the day when the Punxsutawney Phil (yes, the ground hog has a name) comes out of his hole and looks for his shadow to determine the arrival of spring. If he sees his shadow, he concludes (in his little ground hog mind) that six more weeks of winter weather are to follow. And because of that poopy news he crawls back into his hole.

I think we can all agree that this is a cute little tradition. However, Ground Hog Day is also the day my mother passed away. So I am not totally on board with how “cute” this day actually is.

Twenty-two years ago today I lost one of the greatest loves that I will ever know. And this “anniversary” never ever gets easier.

I kind of envy little Punxsutawney Phil. He gets to retreat from the world in a safe cozy place so he doesn’t have to deal with the reality of bad news. I wish I could do that. Certainly not everyday … but definitely today.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you find a good hiding place!!!

Leave a Reply

