A wonderful day with someone I love …

Today my big kids headed off to Disneyland so it was a perfect opportunity for me to take Reese out Christmas shopping. She wasn’t felling well and had basically spent the past few days sleeping off the virus. I was starting to feel like she was missing out on all the excitement you feel from that wonderful Christmas rush. Luckily the pressure was off me today too, as most of the presents that the kids wanted had already been purchased. Today was about being out IN IT and utterly enjoying IT. So I dressed Reese up in her “I’m on the nice list T-shirt” and her cute little green and red plaid tutu and we headed out. Our first stop was lunch with one of my best friends from high school. It was so last minute, but it worked out perfectly! 

After lunch Reese and I wandered around Barnes & Nobel and then headed to the mall. It was so much fun just spending the day with her enjoying Christmas in this way. I loved seeing the wonder in her eyes as she looked at all the decorations and her excitement as we walked by Santa. I’m not a mean mom for just walking by, she saw Santa once already this season and will see him again Christmas Eve with her brother and sisters for their annual “Santa Photo”. A tradition 18 years in the making. 

Anyway, I loved today. Seeing the world through Reese’s eyes is a gift. She keeps my soul young. She reminds me of how important it is to still let the world WOW me and that it’s OK to believe in a little magic. Yep, this little girl has my heart and she teaches me some valuable lessons.

Well, I hope you all had a wonderful day spending time with someone you love!!!

Leave a Reply

