I get by with a little help from my friends … 

Some days I am reminded of just how lucky I am to have found the friends I have.

I was not looking forward to my 20-miler today. Not. At. All. I admit, I was scared to run it. I was worried about my foot and wondered if this was going to be the run that sent me back into the boot. But last night I asked one of my friends if she wound run it with me, and she said “yes”.

It wasn’t my greatest 20-miler ever, but it certainly put my mind at ease. I made it through without any dramatic foot related incident. And the best part was knowing that I had someone with me, which alleviated a tremendous amount of my anxiety. On top of that, my friend gave me a pep talk and told me that it was Okay to have a race that wasn’t going to be run at my best. Honestly, it was quite freeing. I don’t often cut myself that slack, even when I know I should. I guess my friends know that about me. And I am thankful they take the time to “ground” me. Friends can be awesome that way … and friends willing to run 20 miles with your are even more awesome-ER!

Well, I hope you all have a day where you get by with a little help from your friends!!!

2 thoughts on “I get by with a little help from my friends … 

Leave a Reply

