Sprinklers …

California is in a major drought. And despite our 93% dead lawn (along with most of our neighbors) we have had very little discomfort from cutting back on our water usage. This makes me very happy and it’s something that I hope
we continue to do long after the drought is over.

However. Today I had my first real feelings of deprivation stemming from the drought.

Typically on my Saturday long runs I am refreshed by early morning sprinklers. Yes folks, I run through the sprinklers almost every Saturday. As silly as it is, it makes me feel like a kid again and it has been a real life saver.

Since the drought many of us in my neighborhood have either stopped watering or have significantly diminished watering our lawns. People have either torn out their grass, turned off their sprinkler systems or have adjusted sprinkler heads so that there is no water run off. I think all of this is great for our environment. But it did me no good as a runner who had a hot and humid 17 miles to run this morning.

I am officially down to two neighbors who still water their lawns in the early morning hours. TWO. And the accuracy with which they have fine tuned their sprinkler heads should be award winning. They had ZERO water run off. NONE. Not a drop landed anywhere close to me on either the sidewalk or when I was in the street. Seriously. Not. A. One. I am not exaggerating when I say that I almost melted out there today.
And trust me, if I had, I would have been the only liquid found anywhere in my neighborhood not being used effectively.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you find a way to cool down!!!

Leave a Reply

