A day like no other …

When Sidney was a baby she was born with a full head of hair. Blonde curly locks surrounded her precious little face. She even wore a bow home from the hospital CLIPPED into her hair. When I would hold her in my arms I would often push the hair behind her ears. It became such a comfort to her that when she was tired or hungry she would use it as a sign to tell me, taking her little hand and pushing back the hair around her ears over and over until I scooped her up and held her. I mention all of this because it is one of my fondest memories of our time together.

Today we move Sidney into her dorm room. She is the first to leave. The first to grow up. The first to start a life of her own. I am often at a loss for words. I have no experience to help me through this. I have had to trust my instincts and emotions to be my guides.

I woke up early this morning in an unfamiliar hotel room. It was quite. And dark. I had time to think. To pray. To cry. I looked over at Sidney. Sleeping so soundly. My mind was flooding with emotions. More tears came. And all I could do was move my hand slowly toward her face and gently tucked her hair behind her ear.

Well, I hope you all have a day LIKE NO OTHER!!!

Leave a Reply

