I made myself feel better …

So after being given “the boot” on Friday … literally … it pretty much gave me the go ahead to feel bad for myself. This translates into: I GET TO EAT AND DRINK WHATEVER I WANT.

And trust me, I did.

The past 48 hours have not been pretty. But ya know what, I was OK with it. I told myself I could comfort myself with food and drink for the rest of the weekend. Then it has to stop. I am pretty good about turning that switch on and off. I know many people struggle with it even when they have fairly healthy routines. But I firmly believe that I need my indulgent moments. And I take them when I feel I need them. I can’t be good. ALL. THE. TIME. So every once in a while I do let myself indulge, and it makes my regular healthful habits not seem so confining and RIDGID. It’s a balance. One where my healthy habits are way more frequent, but where periodic indulgences have their place too.

So often we find enjoyment and comfort in food. Donuts will always remind me of my childhood. For me there is no other “comfort food” that compares to a jelly donut. Everyone has “their thing”, and boy oh boy, if it’s not a regular happenstance, it is such a treat when you have it. I know it certainly is for me.

Needless to say, I had a few donuts this weekend. And although they were just a bunch of empty calories I didn’t need, they sure did serve their purpose. And tomorrow … so will the gym.

Well, I hope you all had a day where you made yourself feel better!!!

Leave a Reply

