Waiting and wondering … 

I got to spend a lovely (note sarcasm) morning and early afternoon at the doctor this morning. I rarely have a problem when I go, but today was honestly a cluster of craziness. I was there for an eternity. The appointment scheduled for me was actually two days ago, despite me confirming that it was today. Twice. This wasn’t the only thing that went haywire either. But it’s just too much to write about. Ever.

The worst part is that I still don’t have any concrete answers about my foot. HUFF. All I know is that HOURS after my run Saturday my foot started hurting. It was so painful I thought my foot was going to fall off. It has been tender ever since. And by “tender” I mean it HURTS LIKE HECK. My x-rays today revealed no definite stress fracture (YAY) … but there is a “haziness” in the area of my pain (HUH?!?!). I guess “haziness” is usually an indicator of a stress fracture. Go figure, my body can’t be diagnosed straight up. It has to be difficult. Again … HUFF.

The only good part of this whole thing is that my doctor told me I can continue my marathon training even in a cast as long as I stick to the stationary bike for leg work. That is pretty darn reasonable of him, if you ask me.

So what’s next without a diagnosis? Well, my x-rays are being sent off for further evaluation by an ortho who deals with feet. If they can’t make a concrete diagnosis based on the films then I’ll probably be sent for an MRI or CT scan. Until then, I am left thinking about cast color choices. For the record, l’ll be going with pink. Again … again … HUFF!

Well, I hope you all have a day where you aren’t left waiting and wondering!!!

Leave a Reply

