Going nowhere FAST …

I am at that part of my training where I am supposed to be running 5 days a week, per my new training schedule. If you know me, you know that this has NEVER worked out well for me. It took me several injuries to realize that I cross train too much for 5 days of running to benefit to me in any way.

Last year when I hurt my quad/hamstring during the LA Marathon, my orthopedist suggested I cycle at least one day a week instead of run. I gotta admit. I thought he was trying to enlist me in his legionnaire of Ironman recruits. I wanted no part of it. But he assured me that I would get the training my legs needed without the abuse that running hands me. I was reluctant. But when he cleared me to start training again, I decided to give it a whirl. 

Although I probably wouldn’t want to admit it to him, he was right. In the past year I have spent many miles on the stationary bike at the gym that I feel have benefited my running greatly. Not just sparing my legs the pounding, but helping me with knee strength. Stronger knees have ultimately lead to a faster pace, especially on the downhill. I believe it’s because my knees feel like they can handle it now, so I have the confidence to push harder. And THAT is always a good thing.

But … and this is a BIG BUT … it is the most boring thing on earth to me. Ever.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you feel like you are going nowhere fast!!!

Leave a Reply

