Living a life beyond my wildest dreams … 

Happy National Running Day everyone!!!

When I was 15 years old my running aspirations were sidelined by a back injury. It took me years to get going again. Decades to have the courage to really try. Ten years ago I asked God for the strength to run just 1/8 of a mile. I was scared. I knew what I really asking for. It was huge. Bigger than I had dared to dream in years. But I was finally ready to take that chance, even if it meant failing. As it turned out, I was able to run that 1/8 mile that day … and it changed the course of my life. For the better.

Along with National Running Day I am happy to also celebrate, this week, the forth anniversary of my first race. A 5K that meant the world to me. I knew it was just the beginning. But I under estimated that “beginning”. It was the start of so much more than I ever dreamt possible. 

Running and racing have given me many gifts far beyond the reach of health and fitness. I have found genuine friendships with some of the most supportive, encouraging and inspiring people I have ever known. I now also get to live each day knowing that I am capable of achieving things that I once never had the courage to dream.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you celebrate living a life beyond your wildest dreams!!!

Leave a Reply

