Playing hot potato with my freakin’ eyeballs (again) …

Good lord. OK, I think I may have written about this before in one of my nearly 1,500 blog entries under my belt. But forgive me, my life is often repetitive and … well … not ever really boring.


I have been advised to “potato” my eyes by my optometrist. By “potato” my eye, I literally mean, POTATO MY EYE. I heat potatoes (small, not russet) for one minute in the microwave, then adhere them to my eyelids (and BAGS) for 5 minutes on each side. I am supposed to do this about every 6 months, one time a day, for about 3-5 days.

Why? I’m getting there.

When my doctor first told me to do this I honestly thought it was like one of the jokes the doctors, I worked with previously, would pull on me. “Let’s see if she is kooky enough to try this one!” I was. Trust me, I was.

Anyway, apparently there is a REAL reason to actually “potato” one’s eyeballs. With all the running I do, it dries out my eyeballs and that somehow clogs the oil ducts in my eyelids. Whoda thunk, right?!?! “Potato-ing” my eyes stimulates the oil ducts and therefore makes my eyes less dry and swollen.

If I hadn’t seen the results of this odd medical (and natural) suggestion myself, I wouldn’t have believed it. But it really does work.

I am on day two of this little cycle of mine and as I sat this morning with two potatoes on my eyes, I couldn’t help but giggle about how I must look … after, of course, I had just survived the excruciating pain of having had one potato retain WAY more heat that the other. Ugh. And OUCHIE. Three days and counting …

Well, I hope you all have a day where you get to play an impromptu game of hot potato!!!

3 thoughts on “Playing hot potato with my freakin’ eyeballs (again) …

Leave a Reply

