Sucking and having fun anyway …

As a runner you know that there will be run days that do not go as planned. Not. At. All.


Today a few of my friends and I ran the Hollywood Half Marathon. Now, don’t get me wrong, this was going to be a “fun” run for us. None of us were pressed for a certain time that we had trained for. It was truly about getting out there, spending time together and doing what we love.

Well. Then we woke up.

Before we even left the hotel room I was bleeding. Don’t ask me how, but I managed to shave part of my finger off in the shower. I know. I couldn’t even reenact it if I tried. And let me tell you, it FLIPPEN hurt (and sadly still does)! Then on the race course my friend Maria felt a sudden and painful burning pop in her foot. This was bad. Then a few miles down the road my friend Kim started having calf pain. We were kind of a mess.

All I can say is that it’s a good thing we have happy dispositions, because we needed them. Despite everything we had a great time out there and finished the race with smiles on our faces. You see, that is the great thing about runners. We don’t always have to have things go as planned. The spirit of running has taught us that we must have our running “lows” to truly appreciate the “highs”. And man oh man, those “highs” are so good, they always keep us coming back for more.

In the poetic words of Maria: “Running. We suck at it.” 

… at least today anyway.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you had fun anyway!!!

Leave a Reply

