Truly happy …

Today is World Down Syndrome Day. I can get into all the who, what, where, why, and when’s but you can google all of that on your own. What I will say is that I love any day that recognizes how special my Reese is. I have written before about how I believe with all of my heart that I was being prepared my whole life for my role as Reese’s mommy. I had even said numerous times, prior to even getting pregnant with Reese, that I thought my family and friends would be perfect to raise a child with special needs. However, when I envisioned my future self it wasn’t as a mom to a child with Down Syndrome. I was just simply a mom. And maybe that is why I never shed a tear when I found out Reese had Down Syndrome. I wasn’t sad or scared. I was just a mom who loved her daughter, extra chromosomes included.

Reese has been such a blessing to me and everyone who has come to know her. My love for Reese has shown me that even though my life may not have turned out exactly how I had pictured it, it did turn out exactly the way it should have … and I can’t imagine it any other way.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you are truly happy!!!

Leave a Reply

