A little bit sentimental …

I have a THING about the hats I run in. I am loyal to them. They become like my “sidekick” in a sense. A constant. A comfort. I wore NOTHING but my Cabo ’08 tan baseball cap when I trained for my first 5K, 10K, and half marathon. For races after that I started branching out on the hats I wore. Then one day I found my black Nike running hat. It was runner love at first wear, HA! It was perfect. And it became THE ONLY hat I would wear for races since I ran the Los Angeles Marathon in 2013. It has seen me through quite a few race DOOZEYS and it has become a part of my race day routine.

Dang, I love that hat.

Look, I know my that hat issue is a little weird but I could be doing way worse things with my craziness so let’s just put it in perspective, shall we?


But sadly … I can’t find it. Just over two days away from running my seventh marathon and I can’t find MY HAT. I am not happy about it either. I have no clue where it could be. Sure I can buy another black Nike running hat, but it won’t be the same. That hat has seen me through some tough races. Many failures. And some amazing victories. It’s familiarity has become a comfort to me. And I’m down right bummed I may not get to run in it Sunday.

I have learned that when it comes down to it, you can’t control what happens on a marathon race course. Sure you can prepare and train to be physically and emotionally ready to face those 26.2 miles. But you never really know what will be thrown at you on race day. Not. Ever. 

However, I have found that you can control what gives you a little bit of personal comfort on race day by bringing something with you that reminds you that you have what it takes. A subtle reminder of all the miles that came before. The determination. And of all the blood, sweat and tears that that got you to where you are now.

I know it’s a bit silly, but that’s what my hats do for me.

Now, where did I put that darn thing?

Well, I hope you all have a day where you get a little bit sentimental!!!

Leave a Reply

