Happily disappointed …

I took a new class at my gym today. It’s called IRON MAT. Yes … IRON MAT. Having done yoga for several years now I have to admit the name utterly scared me as much as it intrigued me. I don’t find yoga all that easy … not … at … all. And I’ll be honest, no matter what position or pose I’m in, I can’t touch my toes. Yep, I can run a BAZILLION miles but I can’t touch my toes. And I’ll be honest again. I don’t really want to. I’m alright with leaving this earth without that ability. I can still tie my shoes and get my pants on with some knee bending so I figure I’m OK.

Anyway, back to IRON MAT. I was scared to go. Something called IRON MAT didn’t sound like it was a good idea to do just three days after running a half marathon and then some. IRON MAT was dangerously close to sounding like IRONMAN. You know, the BEAST of all triathlons? I envisioned us swimming, cycling and running in some odd form of yoga poses I had never heard of before. Did I mention I can work myself up into a tizzy? Bottom line: I was intimidated and didn’t want to go. But I talked myself into it being that it was only 30 minutes long and followed but a “normal” yoga body sculpt class. So off I went.

To sum it up, this IRON MAT class was … uh … Pilates with optional 2.5lbs weights. Normal ole Pilates … with the lightest weights the gym has. This is what I was terrified over? I think the anxiety I worked up wondering what IRON MAT could possible mean, caused me more of a work out! And I still have no clue what the IRON part was. IRON? Really?!?!

Well, I hope you all had a day where you were happily disappointed!!!

Leave a Reply

