An unexpected road trip …

Sidney and I have had quite a few adventures in our day … and by adventures I mean both real adventures and getting lost. Even with a smartphone in hand I can get us pretty darned turned around. I can even boast that one time my NOT SO smartphone told us to “turn right in 100 feet” … which happened to be an down embankment towards a freeway. No road! So needless to say, even with our best efforts of planning it doesn’t always work out for us.

… and today was going to be one of those days.

Thankfully because I am wildly aware of both mine and my cellphone’s directional limitations, I knew enough to check our coordinates for a Christmas event being held at a local running store tonight. But what I found was not just a directional error … but a pretty HUGE human error on my part. Good. Lord.

Typically Sidney and I attend run club-ish events at two of our local Road Runner Sports locations. One of the events is a Holiday Party for VIP members. Well, when I checked their events for December I realized we had a scheduling conflict for both stores. However, I did find another event at what appeared to be a new location not too far from our home for today. So I registered us.

Fast forward to today when I decided to quickly Google the “new” store’s location. I spent a few minutes trying to figure out why there were also NEW highways and absolutely NO streets I could recognize the names of. So I expanded out the map and realized why I couldn’t figure out where this Road Runner was. DENVER was the closest big city near Westminster … as in Colorado. Yep. I registered us for an event in COLORADO. Needless to say, we won’t be attending.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you don’t have an unexpected road trip!!!

Leave a Reply

