The gift …

Everything I needed to know about life I learned because of my mother’s death.

Yes, it was terrible to lose her, but I always thought it was extra awful that I lost her when both of us were so young. She was 46 and I was 25. We lost out on a lot of things … and well, that just sucks.

But, I also learned a valuable lesson at an early age. People and the moments we share with them are more important than ANYTHING else in the world. NOT ONE THING is more important, than the time you spend with the people you love. And THIS has shaped my whole adult life.

Some of our weekends get pretty crazy busy around here. Like this one. It’s easy to get frustrated or overwhelmed even when most of the events involve fun.

I often try to steal a moment alone before the craziness hits, like I did this morning, to remind myself that sharing these experiences with my H-Crew is all that matters. I give myself permission to not have things perfect and to let certain things go. To just enjoy the firsts, the lasts, the smiles and laughter, the mishaps and unexpected and unwanted surprises … because they are OUR moments. Never to happen again. Given to us to fill this moment in time. A day in our history. And I refuse to waste any of it.

Every. Single. Moment. Is. Precious. Thank you mom, for teaching me well.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you feel like you were given a great gift!!!

Leave a Reply

