Over and over again …

I had one goal today, get up and run 13.1 miles. I’m not sure this was the best goal I could had for myself today since I did a lot of cross training this week. Also, yesterday’s yoga class was about 85% standing and balance poses. Needless to say, I didn’t care. I have my first race since Ventura next weekend and I figured I better see if I can actually still run that distance, HA!

So out I went this morning. Thankfully it was cool and overcast. I ran my first 9 miles at a reserved pace and then hit Bastanchury Hill for my last 4 miles. My quads, amongst other parts, hated me. But … I did it.

I’m not sure if it’s because I waited so long to start racing and running distance, but there is a part of me that still can’t believe I can do it. Me, a distance runner?!?!

I have mentioned before that any dreams I had of being a distance runner were put on hold (actually shattered) after my back injury when I was 15. When I finally did start racing, I knew what I wanted.

DISTANCE.

Don’t get me wrong, I was a nut. I HAD TO run a 5K first. Then a 10K. Then a half marathon. Then I felt ready to run a marathon. Those STEPS were what I needed to have the confidence to do and become what I wanted. So EVERY SINGLE TIME, I make it back HERE. It feels … EPIC.

Me.

I did that.

Wow!!!

Running is a gift. Every step. Fast. Slow. It doesn’t matter. And distance running IS and ALWAYS WILL BE my dream come true.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you are able to make your dreams come true OVER AND OVER AGAIN!!!

Leave a Reply

