Donuts …

I am a pretty healthy eater and I have been most of my life. I came into my love of fitness and nutrition the summer I turned 12 when I discovered the Richard Simmons show. I would write down his recipes and when my mother would come home from work I would beg her to take me to the store to buy all the ingredients. For the record, that woman was a saint. Of course since then, I did the typical high school and college crappy diet scene. But in the end, I always came back to what I knew to be the best thing for my body. Plus I have ALWAYS had a fear of chemicals and preservatives (and plastic for that matter, but again, that is topic for another day). So needless to say, eating healthy caused me less anxiety than dealing with all my other phobias combined, HA!

That all being said, I do have a vice I will probably never give up … DONUTS. Donuts are my thing. They always have been. Honestly, I think it came out of being a New Yorker. Yes, I’ve spent most of my life as a Californian, but it doesn’t matter. Once a New Yorker, always a New Yorker … first and foremost. Anyway, one of my favorite childhood memories is of little pink pastry boxes tied up with string that always seemed to fill my YaYa’s (grandmother’s) hands. Yes, bakeries, pink boxes and donuts are a part of my personal history … silly I know, but sentimental to me nonetheless. Donuts are not just my vice … they have become my reward and my comfort food. When I celebrate, I usually do so with donut. When I am sad, I also comfort myself with a donut. Perhaps I seek them, in good times and bad, because they bring me back to a simple happy time when life was just starting for me. When life was genuinely good and right. When a sweet was just a treat. I cherish the memories I have of the smiles that came across the faces of the people I loved who delighted in what was found inside those pretty pink boxes. Donuts. They may not be the best thing for my body, but every once in a while, they are exactly what my heart needs.

Well, I hope you all have a day where you enjoy a donut!!!

2 thoughts on “Donuts …

Leave a Reply

