ME, my EYE ZIT and the WEIRD that follows me …

OK, this one shocked even me. I woke up early this morning … no, not to run. This was not voluntary or planned. I woke up at 1 a.m. with excruciating eye pain. Um … I am not a whimp when it comes to pain. I’ve survived a fractured vertebra, migraines, natural child birth, an emergency c-section (and a wicked recovery), meningitis and running a marathon with three sprained tendons in my foot. Yadda, yadda, yadda. My point being, I am a bad @&& when it comes to pain. So for this eye pain to wake me up and land me in a germ infested ER during flu season 15 days before my next marathon, YOU KNOW it had to be BAD! The diagnosis: a Hordeolum internum. In normal people terms … it’s an internal sty. INTERNAL. Yes people, what woke me up from a dead sleep was the eruption of a zit behind my eye. Lovely. I was not easily convinced of this fact because the pain was so bad. But apparently it is known to be quite painful … and rare (of course). Since they did a pretty thorough eye exam (not everyone gets a glaucoma test at 3 a.m. … don’t be jealous), I was reluctantly convinced. Now, this isn’t the first weird medical thing I’ve experienced. Sadly, I don’t think it will be the last either. AND it certainly doesn’t top the list … but still. Really? An INTERNAL EYE ZIT … only me …

Well, I hope you all have a day where you don’t wake up with some un-SIGHT-ly acne!!!

Leave a Reply

